Cybercrime Treaty Documents

Treaty Status

The Cybercrime Convention was opened for signatures on November 22, 2001. Approximately 30 nations have signed so far, including four non-COE nations (the US, Canada, Japan, and South Africa). In each of the signatory nations, action is required by their National Parliaments before they can be bound by the Treaty. The treaty will go into effect when it is adopted by five nations (including three COE members). Once that happens, non-COE or "observer" nations will then be able to apply for admission to the Treaty.

This chart on the COE's official Web site lists the treaty's signatories and shows the current ratification status in each signatory nation:

Status of Treaty (Signatories and Ratification)